National Biz News

All Business Stories for You!


“Distinguished and Discerning’ The JCB Prize for Literature announces its jury for 2024

New Delhi, April 11, 2024: The JCB Prize for Literature – one of India’s most coveted literary awards – has unveiled its jury for 2024. In the 7th year of the prize, the members of the jury are Jerry Pinto, author, translator and poet; Deepthi Sasidharan, art historian and curator; Shaunak Sen, filmmaker and writer; Tridip Suhrud, writer and translator and Aqui Thami, an accomplished artist and academic. Jerry Pinto will be the chair of the jury for 2024.

jcb prize

Each member of the jury specializes in distinct cultural and intellectual art forms, mastering various languages and modes of expression. With their varied perspectives, they unite in their commitment to discover the most distinguished fiction from India this year. The JCB Prize for Literature is supported by JCB India Ltd, a leading manufacturer of earthmoving and construction equipment, and is overseen by the JCB Literature Foundation.

“Over the past six years, The JCB Prize for Literature has encountered readers and enthusiasts from all corners of India, and what stood out is the love that literature is receiving across the country. In its seventh year, the prize once again seeks to discover books that are a true representation of what India is reading today. The jury for this year is multi-faceted and brings spirited energy and commitment to awarding exceptional writing and magnificent stories”, said Mita Kapur, Literary Director of The JCB Prize for Literature.

“Honoured to be asked to chair the jury of the JCB Prize which has now become a significant part of the literary calendar in India. What could be better than discussing books with a group of interesting people for the better part of a year?” said Jerry Pinto, Chair of the 2024 jury.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *